First Impressions: Kasabian, The West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum

The West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum
RCA Records
Release Date: 6/9 


   1. Underdog
   2. Where did all the Love Go
   3. Swarfiga
   4. Fast Fuse
   5. Take Aim
   6. Thick as Thieves
   7. West Rider Silver Bullet
   8. Vlad the Impaler
   9. Ladies and Gentlemen (Roll The Dice)
  10. Secret Alphabets
  11. Fire
  12. Happiness

First Impressions: 

 – Vocals on some tracks have a slight Liam Gallagher tinge, but no two songs sound alike.  The mixture of electro and hip-hop musical elements manages to make it sound new and not derivative.
– “Where did all the Love Go,” is epically produced with strings, hand claps, vocal harmonizing, electro keyboard drone, acoustic and electric guitar.  All of these elements fuse together for an intricate song with twists and turns you wouldn’t normally expect.
– “Swarfiga,” is a bass-heavy, snare drum-supported instrumental track out of the ordinary for the band, but is perhaps a perfect example of its experimentation with producer Dan the Automator.
–  Many of the songs on The West Ryder are upbeat and danceable, so it wouldn’t be surprising if remixes of some of the songs hit club dancefloors in the near future.
Key Tracks: 

“Where did all the Love Go,” “Thick as Thieves,” “Vlad the Impaler,” “Fire” 


Kasabian’s break from producer Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys, Editors) proves a good move for the Leicester, England, band. For The West Ryder, producer Dan the Automator brings a welcome edge to Kasabian’s sound, with an obvious hint to the work he’s done with the Gorillaz. More hip-hop-influenced beats and an emphasis on cranked up keyboards and distorted guitar make an impressive third album that sets itself apart from the band’s previous work. 


Kasabian’s Official Web site:

Kasabian’s MySpace Page:



Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: