Kasabian secret gig joy for fans

Dozens of lucky Kasabian fans are getting ready to travel to London for a one-off secret gig today – thanks to a Mercury competition.

In Saturday’s paper, we gave readers the chance to win tickets to see the county rockers.

The Mercury text line was kept busy all weekend, with almost 550 entries from fans all eager to see an intimate live show to be filmed for Channel 4.

Sixty winners will be taken to London by coach this afternoon – and will only find out their destination when they arrive at the venue.

Just 400 fans will get to see the album launch gig, which precedes a 20-date UK tour, starting with three dates at De Montfort Hall next week.

For Katie Westbrook, from Shepshed, winning came as a nice surprise on her 30th birthday yesterday.

She said: “It’s amazing. I saw it in the Mercury and thought I’d enter but I never usually win.

“I like them and my partner is a massive fan. He wanted to see them at De Montfort Hall but couldn’t go and was gutted. This has made my birthday.”

Shaun Smith, who lives off Narborough Road, Leicester, was delighted.

The 42-year-old said: “It’s the first time I’ve won anything.

“I’m a big fan. I have both albums and I saw them at Reading a few years back.

“I tried to get tickets for the De Montfort gigs but they’d sold out.

“They’re fantastic, a brilliant band. I’m going to take my son, James. He’s a big fan, too.”

Tickets for the gig are free, but Mercury readers had more chances to win as Kasabian wanted to give something back to die-hard local fans.

Sara Ainge, 37, from Thurmaston, is taking her sister, Linda. She said: “I’m a big fan and we’ve got tickets to see them at De Montfort Hall as well.

“I’ve met Tom Meighan a couple of times at the Walkers Stadium and he’s a nice lad.”

The 60 winners will meet in Leicester this afternoon and will then travel down to London.

The gig, which will be screened on Channel 4 on June 6, will include material from Kasabian’s much-awaited third album, West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum, released on June 8.

Speaking to the Leicester Mercury before filming for Jools Holland’s show yesterday, guitarist Serge Pizzorno said he wanted local fans to see the London gig.

He said: “It sounds like a great prize. I wish I was going on the bus – that’s the best way to do it, with lots of people.

“It’s going to be a wicked night. These shows are good, they keep people excited. It’s just a shame it only holds 400.”

http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk

Comments are closed.

