Kasabian @ O2 Academy Glasgow 18/06/09 [Photos/Video]

What can I say about Kasabian’s Glasgow O2 gig. It was epic. It was monumental. Such a top gig. The ‘weejans’ were on form – singing ‘get loose get loose’ during the verses of Vlad, which was amazing. I’d never heard that done before. They make for great backing singers. Also, before the encore, they starting the la’s LSF without any prompt whatsoever, in perfect tune. I thought Kasabian’s Newcastle gig was amazing. This one took the biscuit, the cake, the whole kit ‘n’ caboodle…

SETLIST:

Underdog
Shoot the Runner
Reason is Treason
Cutt Off
Fire
Processed Beats
Where Did All the Love Go?
Swarfiga
Thick as Thieves
Me Plus One
Empire
Fast Fuse
The Doberman
Clubfoot

Vlad the Impaler
Stuntman
You Got The Love
L.S.F.

I’m glad that they’ve decided to put Underdog back as the first song like at their Albert hall gig – it fits so perfectly. And Swarfiga directly after Where is All the Love is where it belongs. It’s a cracker of a song live. Ian was belting out a Pendulum style beat, going a mile a minute. I thought he was going to explode. I was definitely loving the drum ‘n’ base vibe of the song. Also, Tom’s singing on Thick as Thieves was beautiful, as was Fire and Fast Fuse.

While we were waiting outside I heard the band rehearsing Take Aim and was going mental at the thought of hearing the song live, but alas, they never played it. Serge said that they were ‘working on it’ and hopefully, we’ll be getting it soon. I’m hoping in time for their Eden Project show next month [*prays*].

Thanks to Naoko for the guestlist pass, you saved my life. And thanks again bubbs for her wonderful hospitality. You are definitely the hostess with the mostess…*smoochies*

Photos are here.

VIDEOS

UNDERDOG

SHOOT THE RUNNER

REASON IS TREASON

CUTT OFF

FIRE


PROCESSED BEATS

WHERE DID ALL THE LOVE GO?/SWARFIA

THICK AS THIEVES

ME PLUS ONE

EMPIRE

FAST FUSE

THE DOBERMAN

CLUB FOOT

VLAD THE IMPALER


THANKS BUBBS!

STUNTMAN

L.S.F.


2 Responses to “Kasabian @ O2 Academy Glasgow 18/06/09 [Photos/Video]”

  1. I was at the Glasgow gig and it’s the only concert that has ever blown my mind! I’m still trying to piece the fragments together, I felt like I was privy to something special and monumental at the same time. I’ve been to outstanding gig’s in my time, but this one was summed up by some rough looking character who I got talking to; “Kasabian are the saviours of rock and roll, best best rock outfit in the U.K.” and do you know what, that dogey son of a gun is absolutely right. If my band can emulate an ounce of that creativity I’ll be an ecstatic man.

    oh baby I was born, with a fast fuse.

  2. Videos now added…

Comments are closed.

